Roller coaster

Ahead of New Year’s first day.. wondering what it has to say

NY: Heeyyyyy how was New Year?

Me: Umm.. Like a Tuesday perhaps.

NY: I meant how was my entry this time?

Me: Errr It was pretty much the same

NY: But definitely better than last year eh?

Me: I don’t think so. May be same, may be not, I haven’t compared.

NY: So will you now? Think think. Which was better?

Me: Why? How does it matter? Why are you so stressed about it?

NY: Because you guys stress me out! You all start telling how the previous year was, right after Christmas. “Hope that next year will be better” is all I hear. It’s too much pressure. More than the celebration I guess it is the stress bursting out at mid night as crackers.

Me: Oh so that’s what it is? I had always thought you come happy and cheerful. You can relax a bit, it’s just how we anticipate the worst.

NY: Worst?! Why worst? I was hoping to get the best.

Me: Yeah every one of you say the same but you screw up somewhere along the way. You’re like roller coaster rides

NY: But we don’t mean any harm. We just want it to be a fun ride for all

Me: You never know when fun turns freaking scary for us! At times so lousy that we want to just jump out

NY: You’re kidding. You love it. Did you buy ticket for yours to start?

Me: No I’m not, I doubt that and not yet. Just thinking why the prominence for one day in the whole year. Why this start?

NY: Where would you begin the race if not for the start line? There is always a start. If you are bored of the 5 year long relay, then start a new one, join this year’s race. You can be a spectator too. But you got to take the ride some year.

Me: God! You get so boring and philosophical as you age

NY: You are just jealous I am a complete package

Me: Yeah right, jealous of what? You aren’t even real

NY: Oh now don’t say that. I do feel bad too

Me: Okay so do you feel bad when we don’t celebrate you or when we treat you like any other day?

NY: May be disappointed that I failed to bring the excitement. It’s always my biggest fear

Me: How does it matter?

NY: It does because you get so mechanical with life that you forget to stop and look around, to even smile.

Me: Oh God again! Okay so you think you bring the change?

NY: At least for my sake, you talk to the close ones, though a few lesser every year, but something.

Me: Happens less then you think. Why to wish everyone when you are just another Tuesday? Why do you care?

NY: Just a reminder to reconnect with friends, to remind each other that you are there.

Me: What about those who don’t have friends?

NY: Oh that’s why the roller coaster. They’ll find someone in that ride who’ll say “It’s okay, it’s going to be fun” and it will be.

Me: Eh I am not sure

NY: Of what?

Me: Nothing and anything

NY: Okay, now you are making no sense

Me: Oh, like this conversation was so interesting and perky

NY: Wasn’t it?

Me: I am surprised you even think so

NY: Why?

Me: Look around. There is practically no one listening to this, we were thaaaaat boring! Because of you, people will judge me to be boring too.

NY: Aren’t you?

Me: What?!!

NY: No just.. Oh wait, may be they got so inspired that they are off for the race.

Me: Right, you’re so right. And funny.

NY: Oh thanks so much

Me: Oh my God! Your sarcasm and sense of humor, so screwed up! That answers our question why nothing makes sense in life at times. Great!

 

Leave a comment